The Department of Geography of Tura Government College is one of the youngest Department which have started Geography as an Honours Subject in the College with the introduction of Semester System by NEHU in 2015. The Department is trying to incorporate new ideas, methodologies and techniques in its teachings to improve the curricular associated with these outstanding programme.

Faculty in the Geography Department:

Name Qualification Designation Specialization Year of Joining No. of years of Experience
Smt. Sukriti D.A.Rema M.A. Associate Professor General Geography 1991 27
Smt. Ridalin Nongbri M.A. Lecturer Physical Geography 2005 13
Shri Phrangshai Hynniewta M.A. ( NET) Lecturer Development ( Planning) 2016 02


Departmental E-mail Address: Tgcgeo2016[at]gmail[dot]com

Non-Teaching Staff :

Name Qualification Designation Year of Joining Job experience
Shri Teseng G Momin B.A. Lab. Assistant 2012 6


Course Details:

The Institution offers 3-years Degree Course with Geography Honours under Semester System. Students persuing Geography Honours have the options to take as Elective the following subjects such as Philosophy, Political Science and Economics.

Category SEMESTERS Total Papers
Others Eng. I MIL   Eng II Env.   4
Honours Paper I Physical Geography Theory + Practicals (Pass & Honours) Paper II Human Geography Theory + Practicals (Pass & Honours) Paper III Geography of India Theory ( Honours) Paper IV Economic Geography Theory + Practicals ( Honours) Paper V Regional Geography of South East Asia and China Theory (Honours) Paper VI Map Reading,RS, GIS and Surveying Theory + Practicals Paper VII Geography of Resources Theory Paper VIII (Optional) Agricultural Geography, Biogeography, Urban Geography, Population Geography, Geomorphology (Theory + Project) 8
Elective I Paper I   Paper II     Paper III 3
Elective II   Paper I Paper II   Paper III   3

Laboratory Facilities :

  • Cartographic Laboratory: Topographical Maps, Thematic Maps, Prismatic Compass, Plane Table, Dumpy Level, Theodolite, Planimeters.
  • GIS and Remote Sensing Laboratory has the following facilities such as Desktop Computers, laptops, Satellite Imageries and Image Processing, Aerial Photographs and also mapping softwares such as MapInfo Professional Version 8.6 & Arc GIS version 9.3 has been installed to the system.
Back To Previous Page | Page last updated date: 05-04-2024


The college has a duly appointed IQAC and NAAC steering Committee working tirelessly to get Accreditation from NAAC in the next few years. IQAC headed by Shri Tejan A Momin, Coordinator & Head, Department of Physics is embarked on a path of Quality Initiatives, Quality Sustenance and Quality Enhancement in the college. The college is affiliated to North Eastern Hill University, Shillong since 1958 and is recognized under sections 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act 1956. The NAAC steering Committee created for this purpose and the various Convenors of the different criterion are working hard to prepare the Self-Study Report (SSR) of the institution and submit to NAAC office Bangalore for assessment and accreditation. The Self Study report was prepared and uploaded to NAAC on 17-02-2022 and has prequalified on 24-04-2022 for further assesment . The Self Study Report can be accessed by clicking the link here: Self Study Report