History Department

Department of History Tura Government College offers three years BA course under semester system, after completion of which students can go for further studies related to the subject. The department follow NEHU syllabus which is a wide range of historic periods and historical approaches from ancient to medieval and early modern to contemporary history.

Since the inception of the department we are very fortunate to have dedicated faculty members who have contributed much to the department.

At present the department has six full time faculties with different specialization in the subject with years of experiences in teaching history. The department prepare the students for a wide range of careers of all background. We also demonstrate that we value each and every learner that come to the department and educate the students for careers to support their personal developments.

We are immensely proud of our alumni who are doing excellent jobs for the society and for their successful careers. The department is in cordial relation and in contact with all the passed out students and help each other. One of the best practices of the department of history is to honour the best students by giving them mementos to cherish their achievements in the department.

Our vision

Our vision is to give quality education and to develop critical thinking that will support each and every student in their future endeavours.

Our Mission

The mission of the department is to familiarise the students with various historical developments from the earliest to the present-socio-cultural, socio-political in different time and space. It also aims at moulding the students with skills in various competitive contests and to cultivate intellectual curiosity in young minds for research activities in future.

Faculties in History Department:

Sl. No. Name Designation Qualification Specialisation Date of joining  
1 Mrs. Jyotsna D Sangma Associate Professor Post Graduate Modern India 14-08-1996  
2 Mrs. Judith G Momin Associate Professor Post Graduate Ancient India 12-02-1997  
3 Mr. Armstrong K Marak Assistant Professor Post Graduate North East India 10-08-2011  
4 Dr.(Mrs.) Benora Batemon Marsaring Assistant Professor Post Graduate, NET Ancient India 19-08-2011  
5 Mrs. Jessica A Sangma Assistant Professor Post Graduate North East India 1-12-2011  
6 Mrs.R Eglentina Rynghang Jana Assistant Professor Post Graduate, NET North East India 14-03-2014  
Back To Previous Page | Page last updated date: 09-07-2024


The college has a duly appointed IQAC and NAAC steering Committee working tirelessly to get Accreditation from NAAC in the next few years. IQAC headed by Shri Tejan A Momin, Coordinator & Head, Department of Physics is embarked on a path of Quality Initiatives, Quality Sustenance and Quality Enhancement in the college. The college is affiliated to North Eastern Hill University, Shillong since 1958 and is recognized under sections 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act 1956. The NAAC steering Committee created for this purpose and the various Convenors of the different criterion are working hard to prepare the Self-Study Report (SSR) of the institution and submit to NAAC office Bangalore for assessment and accreditation. The Self Study report was prepared and uploaded to NAAC on 17-02-2022 and has prequalified on 24-04-2022 for further assesment . The Self Study Report can be accessed by clicking the link here: Self Study Report