Tura Government College Students Union

Tura Government College has a student council named Tura Government College Students’ Union (TGCSU). The student body play an important role in the all-round development and welfare of the student community. TGCSU is a body elected for a term of one year by election conducted by the Teaching Faculty following the recommendations of the J M Lyngdoh commission. The various posts of the Student Council are as follows- President (The Principal, presides over the meetings of the Union); Vice-President, General Secretary(responsible for the smooth functioning of the Union);Assistant General Secretary, Secretary, Games &Sports (for outdoor and College week sports); Secretary, Social & Cultural (for Social &Cultural activities); Secretary, Literary & Symposium (for the development of literary activities); Secretary, Boys’ Common Room, Secretary, Girls’ Common Room (responsible for the Common rooms& indoor games, newspapers & Periodical subscriptions) and Secretary, Social Welfare (for the welfare of the students). The Union work as a medium between the Faculty and the students and also motivate the students to participate in activities conducted by the institution.

Due to the Pandemic, elections were not held for two years but resumed in 2022.

Back To Previous Page | Page last updated date: 18-09-2023


The college has a duly appointed IQAC and NAAC steering Committee working tirelessly to get Accreditation from NAAC in the next few years. IQAC headed by Shri Tejan A Momin, Coordinator & Head, Department of Physics is embarked on a path of Quality Initiatives, Quality Sustenance and Quality Enhancement in the college. The college is affiliated to North Eastern Hill University, Shillong since 1958 and is recognized under sections 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act 1956. The NAAC steering Committee created for this purpose and the various Convenors of the different criterion are working hard to prepare the Self-Study Report (SSR) of the institution and submit to NAAC office Bangalore for assessment and accreditation. The Self Study report was prepared and uploaded to NAAC on 17-02-2022 and has prequalified on 24-04-2022 for further assesment . The Self Study Report can be accessed by clicking the link here: Self Study Report