Welcome to Tura Government College, West Garo Hills, Government of Meghalaya

About Tura Government College

Tura Goverment College has prequalified NAAC assesment on 24-04-2022. You can check the SSR here: Self Study Report 

Tura Government College was established on 9th September 1958 to meet the aspirations of the youth of the region for attaining higher education. The College was born out of the far sighted and clear vision of some of the prominent citizens of Garo Hills like Shri Mody K. Marak, Shri Harrison W. Momin, Shri Rangam G. Momin, Shri Ranjit S. Marak, Shri Suresh Das, Shri Dolbir Lohar, Shri Rabilal Jaisi, and Smt. Sodini G. Momin who under the patronage of Capt. Williamson A. Sangma, the first Chief Minister of Meghalaya, were the visionary leaders who founded the college and worked for the benefit and future development of its people. The college was provincialized in July 1967 by Government of Assam and after Meghalaya became a full fledged state in 1972, the college is now affiliated to North Eastern Hill University and accorded affiliation since its creation in 1958. Since its inception, the college has served its purpose of providing quality higher education for the people of Garo Hills. The premier institute of learning offers Under Graduate Degree Courses.

Located at the heart of the calm and peaceful town of Tura, the College has a sprawling campus with a spacious playground, a basketball court, hostel accommodation for boys and girls and few residential quarters for faculty members.

The teaching faculty comprises of a team of qualified, dedicated and competent teachers. In the course of imparting quality education for a period of over 60 years, the college has produced eminent citizens of Meghalaya in different walks of life and professions. At Tura Government College, the students are guided and motivated to realize their dreams and transformed them into complete and responsible citizens, so that they can contribute towards the socio-economic upliftment of the region as well as building the nation.


Back To Previous Page | Page last updated date: 06-05-2022


The college has a duly appointed IQAC and NAAC steering Committee working tirelessly to get Accreditation from NAAC in the next few years. IQAC headed by Shri Tejan A Momin, Coordinator & Head, Department of Physics is embarked on a path of Quality Initiatives, Quality Sustenance and Quality Enhancement in the college. The college is affiliated to North Eastern Hill University, Shillong since 1958 and is recognized under sections 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act 1956. The NAAC steering Committee created for this purpose and the various Convenors of the different criterion are working hard to prepare the Self-Study Report (SSR) of the institution and submit to NAAC office Bangalore for assessment and accreditation. The Self Study report was prepared and uploaded to NAAC on 17-02-2022 and has prequalified on 24-04-2022 for further assesment . The Self Study Report can be accessed by clicking the link here: Self Study Report