Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one must be silent”- Ludwig Wittgenstein.

Tura Government College came into being in the year 1958.  Right from the day of inception of this college, Philosophy as a subject was introduced in the Intermediate level. In fact, the first teacher appointee of Tura Government College was a Philosophy teacher. In 1962 Three Year Degree Course (TDC) was introduced, Philosophy being one of them. Since then Philosophy Department has traversed a long path contributing immensely to the cause of higher education to this region.Eminent personalities like Late R.N.Dutta (former Principal and DPI), Late T.K.Das (former Principal), Late Enothsing Ch Sangma (former Chairman,MPSC), and highly capable and dedicated teachers like Madam D.M.Das, Sir K.P.Choudhury, Madam Mahua Sarkar have greatly contributed to the development of this department. These were the pioneers whose relentless effort, sacrifice, and hard work have made Philosophy Department as one of the most progressive department in Tura Government College. Many of the products of this department were fortunate enough to serve this college as a teacher. Late Enothsing Ch Sangma, Smt. Mahua Sarkar, Late Ashes Daring, Shri Nitish Pandit, (Dr.)Shri Jay Prakash Sharma(In KNGC), Shri Chaturvedi Daring and Shri Marma A Sangma are among those students of Tura Government College.

The department, at present, is in its full strength, having all the 5 (five) sanctioned posts filled up.

Faculty Profile:

Name Qualification Designation Year of Joining No. of Years of Experience
Smt. Sunita Ch Momin MA Associate Professor 1996 22
Shri Chaturvedi Daring MA Associate Professor 1996 22 (retired)
Shri Marma A Sangma MA Senior Lecturer 2011 07
Shri Jerome W Sangma MA Assistant Professor 2011 07
Back To Previous Page | Page last updated date: 05-04-2024


The college has a duly appointed IQAC and NAAC steering Committee working tirelessly to get Accreditation from NAAC in the next few years. IQAC headed by Shri Tejan A Momin, Coordinator & Head, Department of Physics is embarked on a path of Quality Initiatives, Quality Sustenance and Quality Enhancement in the college. The college is affiliated to North Eastern Hill University, Shillong since 1958 and is recognized under sections 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act 1956. The NAAC steering Committee created for this purpose and the various Convenors of the different criterion are working hard to prepare the Self-Study Report (SSR) of the institution and submit to NAAC office Bangalore for assessment and accreditation. The Self Study report was prepared and uploaded to NAAC on 17-02-2022 and has prequalified on 24-04-2022 for further assesment . The Self Study Report can be accessed by clicking the link here: Self Study Report